Craigslist.org scams part 2
http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/ctd/1022082486.html sandersmark33@yahoo.com
http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/ctd/1022081124.html budis70@msn.com
http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/ctd/1022069598.html ssgt.fergusonbrian@gmail.com
http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/ctd/1021964963.html emldnmn@aol.com
http://losangeles.craigslist.org/lac/cto/1022153273.html martin.anderson1977@yahoo.com
http://losangeles.craigslist.org/sfv/ctd/1022149882.html sean33h@googlemail.com
http://losangeles.craigslist.org/wst/ctd/1022144710.html
http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/ctd/1022130698.html
http://seattle.craigslist.org/see/ctd/1022071195.html
http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/doc/ctd/1022110620.html
http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/ctd/1022162524.html
http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/ctd/1022152847.html catscruz@aol.com
You can subscribe on right of this article to get the latest scams and methods used
Flag with me to help others, also add your comments here if you find another scam. Adding new scams shortly…..
Update 1
The car is in Manhattan, KS , but it was listed nation wide on craigslist, so it appeared in local searches too. I am an absolute begginer at these things, so i made a mistake. Since it was my fault,i accept to split the shipping fees with you,50-50. I hope this is ok with you and please accept my sincere apologizes.
Here’s some pictures with my car: http://s430.photobucket.com/albums/qq25/plmccu/
About the eBay program….they offers a 5 day inspection time with a return policy “no question asked”. So after you receive and inspect the car, if you decide not to keep it, you just return it at my own expense. I strongly doubt that you will find anything wrong, but I agree with these terms.
So please let me know your decision.
Update 2
Hi,
Thank you for your interest in my car.This is a 2005 honda odyssey
touring,Mileage: 37,800 Body Style: Minivan Exterior Color: Silver
Interior Color: Gray Engine: 6 Cylinders Transmission: Automatic
Drivetrain: 2WD Doors: 4 A/C: Front, A/C: Rear, Cruise Control,
Navigation System,TV/VCR, Leather Interior, Memory Seats, Power Seats,
Airbag: Driver, Airbag: Passenger, Airbag: Side, Sunroof/Moonroof, Third
Row Seats
VIN:5FNRL38855B022837
Here you can find more pictures of the car:
http://s682.photobucket.com/albums/vv183/you_are_connected/
(if the above link does not work copy and paste it into a new web
browser window).
The car has been well taken care of, always kept in the garage.Flawless
exterior/interiorcondition,no scratches and no dents.It has never been
involved in an accident.The engine starts and drives like new and the
paintlooks great.It comes with US clear title which will be signed and
notorized in the buyer’s name.Have original manuals and all keys.
I’m an US Air Force lt.currently stationed in the United Kingdom.The car
is here with me. It was bought in the US and shipped to Europe, but it
was neverpermanently registered here, the car is still registered in the
US.The car is for sale locally as well, but there are slim chances of
this to happen. In order to be able to register this car here in the UK
the buyer would have to pay very high import/custom taxes that will
double the price. So I decided to sell the car back in the US.
The price is $4,400.00 including shipping from the UK to the US and
delivery to your home address.So if you decide to buy this car or need
further information please get back to me as soon as possible.
Thank you
Lt.Ryan Watson
12 Comments »
RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL
Good job. keep them coming.
All the scams are down now. Keep the good work!
I have subscribed to this site. Interesting things. Keep the good work.
A little while back I looked at a great deal. A volkswagon little bug I think it was. The person E-mail and everything sounded legit. What happens I kind of think maybe they might be very well off financially and their spouse or family member died. Maybe their son went to prision, etc. so I am a little sensitive about probing question. Figure they just want to get rid of the vehicle. Sometimes they write kind of sophisticated or even mispelling words. They do it well. You might want to try starting your ad “Ebay purchase protectn progrms” are lies”. etc.
Another scam I’ve come across is in the apts/housing section. The scammers will go take a picture of a house for rent, and post it for really cheap rent. Nice, new houses for hundreds below what they really rent for.
We went to look at a property that was listed by a private party on craigslist. When we got there I noticed there was a realtor sign in the window.
When we got home I looked it up on the internet on the realtors website and found that it was, in fact, for rent for $300.00 more than the private party had posted on craigslist.
The scammers had replied to our inquiry on the rental with a long sob story as to why they’re renting the house so cheap. They also requested our name, phone number, address, etc. and wanted us to send them a deposit and rent, and they would send us the keys.
It’s a good thing we recognized the signs, as their punctuation, and grammar reminds me of the Nigerian scams.
Thanks for reading,
Jami
Nissan Maxima 2006 SL – michellewilsn@gmail.com
My daughter just got scammed by a craigslist ad
That same scammer with the honda odyssey is “selling” a 2006 nissan maxima at the moment. He claims all of the same information above, just that its a different car! Its a good thing i saw this post! Brware of this scammer. This is his email krds2233@gmail.com
I got that second email when I responded to an ad just to screw around with these idiots. So I get a canned response even though I totally insulted the guy/girl: the car is in another location 1500 miles away (yet posted on my local craigslist site) and the car would be shipped to me if I sent $4500 through some eBay escrow account. So I reply that I have family in the area (I really did!) where the car was located. The emails stopped cold after that, but I did press a couple of times to get a reply. I never understood how people could fall for these stupid scams. First, the posters are so grammatically challenged it’s not even funny (“this car has a great smell!and no swirly marks”–seriously, WTF is that?!). Second, these ads just reel off a bunch of specs they cut and pasted from other ads. Yes, when I go look at a car for purchase, I always check to see if it has a telescoping steering wheel, a speedometer, and headlights. The scammer I replied to sent me a “PayPal Warning” email, complete with the poor grammar and PayPal logos (my paypal account “will be locked in short time if I do not reset my informations.” The email address is vanessawilliams34@gmail.com of anyone would like to spam the hell out of this account.
Hi,
I will have the car shipped from UK by an US Air Force cargo plane so there won’t be any additional shipping costs. Also I will arrange for a truck to transport the car to your home address or, if you like, you can pick it up from the nearest airport in your area. The shipping will take 6-8 days, depending on your location.Shipping will be door to door,to your home address,somebody must be home when the car arrives to sign for the reception.The car will arrive with all the papers and documents required for registration and the keys. The clear title and the bill of sale will be already signed by me.
The payment will be done through eBay.You will send the money to eBay and as soon as the payment is confirmed they will notify me to proceed with the shipping. I will ship the car, you will receive it and you will have 5 days for inspection, both the car and the paperwork and the option to accept or reject the car.The inspection time period will begin as soon as you sign for receiving the car at your requested address.During all this time eBay will hold the money into a trust account.So, this is not a blind transaction,you can see the car before decided to buy it.If you are satisfied with the car and decide to keep it you inform eBay about this and they will release the money to me. If the car is not as advertised and decide not to keep it eBay will refund you the money, no questions asked, and shipping back the car will be my concern. I think this is more than fair for the both of us.Please take into consideration that I will get paid only after you receive the car and make sure everything is as agreed.
If you agree with these terms and you have the money, send me your full name and the address where you want the car to be delivered to and I will initiate the transaction with eBay. You will receive all the transaction details from them.
Just received that e-mail from the guy. Its funny because his name is all over the internet and is being labeled a scammer. I mean even his e-mails are exactly the same as others emails he has sent to other people. The guys email is wallaceafc@gmail.com…for anyone else who comes across it.
I just found one on the Seattle Craigslist. “Sgt. Jose Trevino” was selling a 2008 Honda Odyssey Touring. Fake titles and everything.
Found on Seattle Craigslist contact MichelleCresswell@verizon.net selling 2005 Honda Odyssey for 4800. Same vehicle with identical pictures on Ebay by: Colejake7 #190473031507 is buy it now for 18,500.00
500.00 deposit within 48 hours
Sgt Jose Trevino strikes again. This time he’s based in Quantico, VA and the 2006 Toyota Sienna is in Golden, CO. Found on Craigslist. Contacting seller got a response from Jose followed by offer to bid in private eBay auction on it. He sends carfax, title, VIN and the eBay offer looks good, lots of pictures etc. You also get info purporting to be from eBay about their vehicle protection program.
I called eBay. Beware of emails coming from offer@ebay-motors.com or info@ebay-motors.com. And never wire money to an eBay Motors Holding Account.
Noted that the emails came in duplicate and to the address provided to Jose, not the the address eBay has on file.